Profile photo of a State Farm Agent named: James Carlton

State Farm® Insurance Agent James Carlton

Rating: 5 stars out of 5 (303 reviews)

Leave Us a Review

Our customers are the center of our universe and we’re grateful for them. If you’re willing to share your experience about your interaction with our agency, it’ll be a great help for other people looking to make smart and confident decisions about their insurance and financial services.


Take 60 seconds (or more if you want) to share your story by clicking on one of the review links below.

What our customers say about us...

Michael Harriss

January 5, 2023

5  out of  5
"We previously used internet-based insurers exclusively for 10+ years, until we bought our house. And we could not be more grateful for our decision to switch to James Carlton. Like a ton of folks, we had two pipes burst on Christmas Eve. Our damage wasn’t significant, and we thought the house would be livable throughout it all. Wrong. With flooring ripped up, baseboards ripped out, and more than a dozen industrial fans running 24/7, we just couldn't stay. Within 15 minutes, James and his amazing team (Stephanie, in particular) ensured we were all set up with excellent temporary accommodations. It’s that level of service, personal touch, and genuine care that makes him exceptional. I’m still in a bit of shock to have had this pleasant of an experience with an insurance company throughout this process. It's worth the switch if you haven't already."

Greg Place

December 20, 2022

5  out of  5
"@Stephanie Bachelder has been the most helpful support system working with me at Statefarm. Whether it’s my car, my property, or a quick question, she has had me covered the whole way. I’m quick to recommend Statefarm due to Stephanie, and really hope she gets the appreciation she deserves. You’re on the nice list every year Stephanie. Thank you!"

Gary C

November 7, 2022

5  out of  5
"I have been with Statefarm for over 20 years and since James Carlton came on board, I had never had more interaction and caring to my insurance and needs. Never before had I received regular (Yearly) updates to ensure I had everything I need and more. Recently as I was going through a claim process, I was essentially shoved to the side rather quickly, saying I did not meet deductible and there was very little "investigation" completed to assess damage. A quick call to James to vent frustration and within hours I was on track to complete the claim and had full payout to make repairs within a day or two. Awesome service."

Tyler Eves

November 4, 2022

5  out of  5
"Easy to work with, knowledgeable and friendly. Willing to talk through everything with you, didn’t feel rushed at all. 10/10 experience."

Mike Cobb

November 4, 2022

5  out of  5
"It’s always such a please to work with this team! Their responsiveness and attention to detail does not go unnoticed. Keep up the great work!"

Zach Higdon

November 2, 2022

5  out of  5
"Stephanie and the team at James Carlton took great care of me after my unfortunate accident. They were very helpful in facilitating the process and taking a lot of the stress away."

Brian Schroeder

October 31, 2022

5  out of  5
"Everyone at James' office has been super helpful whenever I've needed any kind of assistance. They are always very prompt in getting back to me. Definitely recommend."

Jason Klopfer

October 27, 2022

5  out of  5
"Very friendly knowledgeable excellent customer service, reliable. What else can I say?"

Mark Moebeck

October 19, 2022

5  out of  5
"Thanks to James Carlton’s team, we came through successfully an experience that otherwise might have been catastrophic. All of our financial needs were met, and they were there every step of the way, particularly Stephanie Bachelder, who worked with us the most closely."

Jennifer Schwane

October 18, 2022

5  out of  5
"We have had State Farm Insurance for home/auto for more than 20 years. We switched to James Carlton about 3 years ago and I can honestly say that not all State Farm agents are created equal. The experience that we have had with the James Carlton agency has been exceptional! 5 Stars is not enough. Our daughter was re-ended in March while visiting her grandmother in Florida. Stephanie who assists James took the process off our hands and literally took care of EVERYTHING! All we had to do was drive the car in to get repaired. The repair process took a long time with not being able to get parts due to COVID but Stephanie stayed on top of it the entire time. She constantly checked in and made sure we had a rental car when necessary. I can not express how impressed we were with her customer service and empathy towards our situation. On top of great customer service during the time of need, James checks in with us yearly to do a needs assessment to make sure we have what we need. This is not a pressure process where he tries to sell you anything, in fact we scaled back on some things! Everyone that we have spoken to or had assist us with his agency has been top notch and followed up just like they promised they would!"

Liam Ryan

October 17, 2022

5  out of  5
"We recently had to make a claim after getting water in our basement, and Steph at the office made the process much easier to understand. She was so helpful, and I cannot recommend this office enough!"

connor mcinroy

October 13, 2022

5  out of  5
"I have been a client of James Carlton for 1.5 now. I was recently involved in an accident where the driver didn't have insurance. Stephanie was the most helpful person in this situation. Stephanie took a situation that was very complicated and stressful and made it extremely easy. Stephanie answered any question/phone call I had every time. She was truly amazing and a life savior in this situation. I will stay as a State Farm Client for a long-time now because of the handling of this situation by Stephanie. I can not say enough good things about the level of service I received during this time."

Jim Judge

October 11, 2022

5  out of  5
"Earlier this summer I had a situation with a local repair shop damaging my vehicle. Long story short, a wheel came off on the highway. The shop's insurance company was dragging its feet and Stephanie really stepped up and helped get the ball rolling. Great service!!"

Mark Richter

September 3, 2022

5  out of  5
"I switched to James Carlton after some bad experiences with the claims process at my previous insurance carrier. I had heard great things from quite a few people, and the hype is real! James and his staff are unbelievable to work with, and, I’ve just been through my first claim through State Farm, and everything went smoothly. Of course, I hope I don’t have to go through that again anytime soon, but at least I have peace of mind that if and when I do, it will be handled in a timely and professional manner. Count me as an extremely happy customer!"

Kelly Portell

September 2, 2022

5  out of  5
"This Agency and his staff went above and beyond for us and can't forget about Steph who made sure our claim went smoothly. She really does make sure you're taking care of from the beginning to the end. Thanks Steph! 😊"

Ellie Mayfield

August 18, 2022

5  out of  5
"A truly great team! Very good about keeping a line of communication about the coverage, they’ve saved me hundreds and thousands over the years without sacrificing service, and I wouldn’t dream of going anywhere else."

Peter Myers

August 9, 2022

5  out of  5
"James Carlton and team are incredible! Everyone went really above and beyond to keep me in the loop on a claim I had recently. They’re all such a pleasure to work with, and I have to give a big shout out to both Stephanie and Barbara for all of their personal help. Thank you all so much!"

Robbie Morefield

July 29, 2022

5  out of  5
"Extremely helpful. Took care of everything. Highly recommend!"

Leslee Martin

July 21, 2022

5  out of  5
"The personal service is always outstanding from everyone on the team. I used State Farm for home and auto for years. When I had a unique need, Barbara went above and beyond to help me find where to get the right coverage, even if she couldn't provide it through State Farm. They really look out for their customers."

Drew Carter

July 18, 2022

5  out of  5
"Always great"

Gina Loveslife

July 8, 2022

5  out of  5
"Barbara is so awesome she’s so pleasant and incredibly knowledgeable about insurance. I learned so much just sitting with her and talking in the last few days… My agency surely is a keeper!😊"

anita doyle

June 25, 2022

5  out of  5
"Mr. Carlton's assistant Stephanie folowed me all the way from the minute of the accident through retrieving my repaired auto from the body shop. She was knowledgeable, concerned, and sympathetic. Even though I am not very tech savvy, she helped me get everything done through the claims hub. She was constantly checking in with me to make sure everything was proceeing on time. Can't praise her expertise enough."

Patrick Vogan

June 25, 2022

5  out of  5
"I had a total loss in my first ever car accident, and the team was excellent. Steph did a great job handling my claim, and Barb had a ton of information to answer my million + 1 questions."

Brent E

June 11, 2022

5  out of  5
"James Carlton State Farm came to my awareness through local advertising. I was previously with an insurance agency where my contact came through an 800 number hoping whatever person who answered on the other end of the line was competent - but it was going to be a different person each and every time. With that company I was customer, with JC State Farm I feel like an appreciated client. In addition to the fantastic customer service - which includes never being placed on hold - I saved significant money on my auto insurance and ultimately decided to also move my homeowners insurance to JC's office. Could not recommend having a local insurance agent more, it is a completely different and superior experience and JC's office is a great example of what a differentiated experience it can be."

barbara Breckenridge ross

June 10, 2022

5  out of  5
"Very easy to work with always available to help in a pinch. Great team."